Thursday, June 26, 2008

What your workspace says about you?

I got this from Caryl...




What Your Workspace Says About You



You are an organized and detail oriented person. You have your life in order.



You are hardworking and driven. You have an excellent work ethic.



You feel like you neglect your family and friends when you're working. You may work a bit too much.



You don't switch careers often, and you intend to stay at your current job for a long time.



At work, you tend to be an extrovert. You enjoy working with other people and drawing people into your work space.

Wednesday, June 18, 2008

a loud OUCH!

I started seeing an infertility doctor where it entails undergoing a series of tests. I had an x-ray called ”hysterogram” at the North Shore Hospital yesterday. I already had an idea of how it’s done even before going there as I was given this piece of paper with instructions and warning if you may call it as such. It was a short procedure… no longer than 5 minutes I think. All I can say is a loud OUCH! That hurt… a lot! Imagine feeling so much pain and they ask you to relax! Sigh! But I guess I really have to go through all these troubles if I want to have a baby…

Tuesday, June 10, 2008

sequel...

We went back to the “dealer” on 5/31 to do some cancellations but the Business Manager was in a meeting. It was “supposedly” rescheduled on 6/2. However, we were surprised to know that she was out on vacation for the whole week. And so we waited till the next Monday which was yesterday. Guess what? She was right there… a few feet away from us… but she didn’t entertain us at all. She asked the salesman (SM) to tell us to call a certain number (which they can’t even provide) for the cancellation. I then showed the contract to the SM where it specifically stated that the cancellation has to be done through the dealer. The SM had to go back to her again for instructions. To cut it short… he took the paperwork, signed my copy and we left.

I am just so pissed off with how this whole thing turned out. I feel like she wouldn’t entertain us anymore because the sale is already done! Where is the so-called customer service then?!

Now we’re really thinking of filing a complaint to the DCA!

Monday, June 02, 2008

never-ending hassles...

Having bought this car seems like “it was never meant to be” from the start. I hate to think of it as some sort of “bad luck” but the troubles are just never-ending.

Being a 1st time buyer, not to mention that we didn’t have an ample time to review all the documents while in their premises, the Business Manager’s (BM) approach looked like it was mandatory for us to get all the extended warranty/add-ons for the car. I must admit that it was written in one of the papers that these are optional. I still believe though that it is the BM’s responsibility to specify that which she didn’t. And while it’s not going to change the monthly mortgaged amount, it would have still been better if these add-ons were applied to the full amount owed. The problem is that the salesman picked up the car the next day after we bought it to install some things and finish the waxing. IFC and I (on separate occasions), told him not to as we wanted to cancel everything. He clearly said it has nothing to do with it. It turned out that $6885 worth of optional items can no longer be cancelled as they are already set up in the car. The only consolation is that we can put that amount on top of the resale value in case we sell or trade it in. We will cancel the rest amounting to $4295 tonight. Bottom line, it’s like we bought 2 cars.

Then on Saturday, we parked the car at a Burger King so buy IFC’s house slippers at a store across the street. It didn’t even take us 10 minutes and IFC saw the car being towed. I wouldn’t believe him at 1st but he ran and knocked on the driver’s window. He said we’re illegally parked as he saw us walked the other direction. We were asked to pay $150… in cash. He showed no mercy at all and when I asked for a copy of the receipt, he said… “Then, give me your driver’s license. I will put tax on it so you have to give me $13 more.” Again, being our 1st time, we just gave in to it to end the conversation.

Call us stupid but I still feel that it’s simply like taking advantage of other people’s vulnerability. This whole ordeal became a big lesson for us… that we have to be more wary next time.

I still can’t get over it though! Arrgghh!!!

Thursday, May 22, 2008

a co-worker's wedding!

We went to a co-worker’s wedding last Sunday. I’ve been so eager to witness a Catholic wedding here as I want to know if they also have the coin, veil, cord and candle ceremonies that we have in the Philippines…

1) Coin (or arrhae) signifies a groom’s promise to take care of his wife materially.
2) The Veil ceremony is being done by pinning it to the groom’s shoulder extended to cover the bride’s head and shoulder. This symbolizes the groom’s pledge of his strength and protection for his bride.
3) The Cord, in a form of number 8, is put over the veil. This represents unity and infinity.
4) Lastly, the Candle ceremony symbolizes 2 lives and 2 spirits are being joined together.


Anyway, they apparently don’t have these over here. While we didn’t understand the ceremony being in Korean, I was sure that it was very solemn and nice. The choir performed really well.

The reception was at Leonard’s which is very well known for weddings. It started with a cocktail which to me was like the main entrĂ©e already as there were so many variation of American and Korean food. I tried not to stuff myself so I could still enjoy the dinner… which was also good. The program went well. There was a lot of dancing. Alex professed his love to his bride and even said “saranghae” (meaning I love you) in the end. I can’t help not to giggle for having known what that word meant. I find that really sweet. Also, they (each) said something to their parents which made them very emotional.

Overall, we had fun!

Pictures here

temporarily booked!

Airfare is very pricey nowadays due to the continuing increases of the fuel cost. I read an article last April saying they will charge $25 for the 2nd checked bag starting May 12th. Then, I saw another article yesterday… American Airlines (AA) will charge a $15 fee for the 1st checked bag starting June 15th. I even heard that other airlines are considering the same thing too.

Anyway, as I’ve mentioned here before, my brother Adoy is getting married this coming September. I’ve been constantly checking for online deals ever since then. The cheapest I got so far was $1168 including taxes. I called my travel agent earlier to inquire on the price and she gave me $1050 RT. She said she will book me temporarily and will just have to keep on re-booking until I confirm. I was also told that Korean Airlines usually has a promo from August 1st – November 30th. So... I'll have to wait and see...

Saturday, May 17, 2008

new "baby"

We've been wanting to buy a car for the longest time. The only thing holding us back is the fact that we think we don't really need it... public transportation is very accessible in NY anyway. But I've been going to the doctor these past few weeks and I have to shell out $32 (by taxi) every visit. And so it got us thinking that maybe it's time to have a car. We went to the dealer last Wednesday for some eye shopping and voila, we went home with a new car!

Pictures here...

Thursday, May 08, 2008

what a "hanap-buhay" life!

It’s been almost a week since my last post but believe it or not I kind of feel the same way up to now. Well not as bad as Friday but I still don’t feel good about my "hanap-buhay" lately. There are just so many things to be done. I really don’t mind that... it’s the inconsistencies which make me very exhausted. I feel so much pressure that I always go home with a headache since Monday. What a _ _ _ _ life!

Anyway…

Pat – Thanks for the red rose. It definitely put a smile on my face.

Gracita – Thanks for the tips girl! Jeez those were exactly what I’ve been doing and I must admit that’s the problem with me… I tend to eat more when I’m stressed out. Yaiks!

Weng – Thanks for the message! Mwah! I feel a little better. *wink* *wink*

Friday, May 02, 2008

outburst!

This is not the 1st time I’m doing this kind of post but what the heck… this is how I am feeling at this very moment!

- woozy
- irritated
- fed up
- bored to death
- exhausted

Thursday, April 24, 2008

guilty as hell!

We went to Wendy’s for dinner last night and as we were eating, I noticed an old man who had just bought a coffee.

Faye : Look at the old man… he’s just having coffee. I wonder if he has some money to buy food.
IFC : Some old people are just like that like Tito Bading who enjoys drinking coffee in the afternoon.

Suddenly, the old man approached us…

OM : Do you know the way to Bridgeport?
IFC : Bridgeport, NY?
OM : Bridgeport, Connecticut (CT).

In my mind, I was already thinking of CT before the old man even said it. And since we don't know the way, all we could say was “no”. Then, he started asking other people but no one seems to be of help to him.

Faye : Why don’t we ask him if there’s anyone he’d like to call and we can let him use our phone?
IFC : Do you want to call someone? You can use our phone if you want?
OM : No. I just missed a road that’s why I got here.
IFC : Maybe there’s a map that you can buy at the gasoline station (which happened to be just beside Wendy’s).

And so the old man left and walked towards the gas station. Poor old man! He was walking back and forth asking different people for help but no one did. We decided to talk to him thinking maybe we can help. I was talking to Kuya Chu (on the phone) asking for the directions when we saw the old man walking the other way so we followed him. IFC was yelling at him but he didn’t seem to have heard it. He was also trying to cross but he can’t. That was the time I suspected that maybe he has dementia. I waved at him to come closer when he turned.

Faye : Do you have any children that we can call? Or a relative perhaps?
OM : No. no.
Faye : Where have you been? Where did you come from?
OM : Hungary.
Faye : No. I mean where were you supposed to go?
OM : I’m supposed to go to this garbage place in Hartford but I missed the road.
IFC : But you’re in NY!
Faye : Are you driving?
OM : Yes.
Faye : Are you sure?
OM : Yes. I have the key right here (showing the keys to us). I’ve been here in the United States for 36 years.
Faye : Where did you park your car?
OM : Somewhere here…
Faye : But this is not where we saw you earlier?
OM : Oh I forgot.
Faye : Come on… let us take you to where we saw you.

As we were walking back to Wendy’s,

OM : I just missed the road.
Faye : Do you want us to call the police for you?
OM : No. I’m fine. You’re so kind.

Then, I gave him the directions that Kuya Chu gave earlier and as we reached the parking lot at Wendy’s,

Faye : Is that your car?
OM : Yes that’s my car.

I checked the plate which shows CT. His car didn’t look really old. His windows were down. He also looked neat… with his hair polished and his polo tucked in.

IFC : Are you sure you can still drive? It’s getting dark?
OM : I’m fine. Thank you.
Faye : I don’t want to leave you like this. Are you sure you're going to be ok?
OM : Yes. Thank you. You’re so kind.
Faye : Drive safe ok?
OM : Yes (with a smile on his face).

Then, I saw a police car coming. I tried waving at them but I don't think they saw me until it was too late... the old man started pulling out of the parking. And we just looked at his car until it’s no longer in sight.

Upon reaching home, I felt so disturbed. I felt like crying. I felt like blaming myself for allowing him to do what he wanted to do. I felt so stupid for letting him go. I felt so stupid that I don’t even know how to call a police (I can’t call 911. It’s not an emergency. I just learned later on that the hotline # for the police is 311). I felt so guilty… in fact up to now I feel that way… thinking if he had made it or not. I kept asking myself “what if something happened to him?” I was right there but didn’t do anything. I was just like those people who were not of any help to him.

IFC said “Let’s just hope for the best. He seemed like he knows how to drive because he tried avoiding the car which honked at him.”

All I can do now is to keep on praying for him… wishing that he is safe. I hope he’s alright. I really do.

As for us, this was definitely a lesson learned

Thursday, April 17, 2008

Thank Goodness!

I’m so happy IFC finally found a job. We don’t have the exact details (as to benefits and all) yet other than the “pay” but he is expected to start this coming Monday. Working hours are an hour longer than usual and he might also work some Saturdays. Still, it’s reasonable. And one thing I like the most, the office is located on the east side which means we can go to work together in the AM. :)

Tuesday, April 15, 2008

Trip to Philadelphia, Delaware (DE), Baltimore, Washington DC and Virginia (VA)

We went to the cities/states mentioned above over the weekend. This was supposed to be a birthday (March 30th) gift for IFC but decided to postpone it for Kuya Lito’s visit to avail of the buy 2 get 1 free promo. I made the reservations online at www.paradiseusa.com where it only includes the bus fare and an overnight stay at a hotel. All entrance tickets and food will have to be extra. My only concern though was that Paradise Vacations is Chinese owned. I was really hoping that there will be some other non-Chinese or at least the tour guide will speak English as well… and we were glad he did. And while this is already the 2nd visit, I was still excited about it knowing IFC was with me. It was my 1st time at DE and Baltimore though.

Anyway, the call time was at 715AM on Saturday. We left Flushing 10-15 minutes late not to mention that we had to transfer to another bus in Chinatown and didn’t leave till 9AM.

1st stop was at Philadelphia where we saw the Independence Hall (previously known as the Pennsylvania State House) and the Liberty Bell. They consider this place as the birthplace of the US… where the Declaration of Independence was adopted and the Constitution of the US was debated, drafted and signed. I also learned that there were only 13 states in the beginning compared to the 50 states and 1 district now. We didn’t get to go in though as the line was very long.

Lunch was at King Buffet’s Chinese Restaurant in Delaware.

Then, we headed off to Baltimore. I was amazed with the many great views at the Harbor area. People were enjoying the nice sunny weather, dining outdoors and taking pictures at every angle of the place.

Next stop was at DC. We went to the American Museum of Natural History… which I think is similar to the one we went to at Central Park NYC. There were so many people. Tourists were everywhere. I’m sure you will also enjoy the old structures of the buildings there. It’s really a nice place to see especially for 1st timers. We also went to the Thomas Jefferson Memorial… who is known for his inspiring words to US citizens and where it signifies liberty; and US Capitol which serves as the “seat of government” for the US Congress. There were many more museums that we just passed by not having a lot of time to go to.

We stayed at the Comfort Inn in Herndon, VA for the night. I didn’t expect the hotel to be that nice. I mean I even brought towels, soap and shampoo just to make sure. If I remember it right, we had to use our own when we stayed at a hotel (which the name I can’t remember) in downtown DC back in 2004. Comfort Inn provided all these including hangers, hair dryer and a vault. The room was so neat and nice. They even had a complimentary breakfast.

Dinner was at McDonald’s. We also stopped by K-Mart and bought some things.

1st stop on Sunday was at the Lincoln Memorial. Abraham Lincoln is the 16th president of the US. This place basically “attracts anyone who seeks inspiration and hope”. Across was the Washington Monument which was built in honor of George Washington being the 1st president of the US and the one who led them to independence. 1/3 of the height of this monument has a different color compared to the other 2/3. The tour guide said something like they couldn’t complete it (for whatever reason I can’t recall) till 20 years later and they can’t anymore find the same kind of material they previously used. We also got to see the Korean War Veterans Memorial and Vietnam War Veterans Memorial. People sometimes think that Korean War was not as significant since it only lasted 3 years compared to the Vietnam War which went on for 16 years. Statistically speaking, 54,246 soldiers died within those 3 years… and 58,226 in 16 years.

We were taking pictures of the White House just outside its gates when a ranger approached us and said tickets are free for the day to enter the garden. It wasn’t part of the day’s activities but the tour guide was nice enough to have squeezed it in. We went back there before 1215PM and there we were… very close to the White House. It was right in front of us. What’s even more exciting were those “secret service agents” (with the “wires” on their ears) that I used to see only on TV. The garden was nice and the flowers were gorgeous. We also took pictures of the Department of Treasury which was in sight.

One thing that the “boys” enjoyed was the National Air and Space Museum. I wouldn’t talk much about it but you can explore their website in the link provided for more.

In between these historic sites hopping, we had lunch at China Garden in Arlington, VA. It was some sort of “ala-carte” where there were 10 of us in a table. We didn’t really enjoy the food. Let’s just say some of those served were “authentic” dishes. We also saw The Pentagon, headquarters for the US Department of Defense, from afar. Pictures were taken only while inside the bus.

We reached home at 8PM.

Overall… the tour was tiring but… fun! We got to see and learn new things. The tour guide was good… very hard working. And if you’re going to ask how the Chinese were in the bus, then that’s another story.

Please click here for the photos...

Friday, April 11, 2008

Days of fun with Kuya Lito & Ate Irmee!

Please click this for the photos.

You can also visit Ate Irmee's blog for the details. Sorry I'm still tired, thus, too lazy to blog! :)

Thursday, March 27, 2008

it's bothering me...

I see nothing but about “recession” almost every time I go online. Take for instance this single mom who used to be earning $70k a year but now have to go to a food bank to feed her 2 kids. I’m sure it’s not only in the US that this is happening. Manang Glo told me last night that pork in the Philippines is now P175 per kilo. And I also read online that they are facing rice shortage. Filipinos depend so much on rice. In fact, we eat rice 3x a day. IFC doesn’t have a job yet and as to when he can have one, nobody knows. I don’t know but I think I’m getting paranoid of things that are not even affecting me. Well at least not yet. In reality, the company I work for is very stable. I would say it has the resources it needs. We even have 4 new hires in the last 2 weeks. But you just never know…

Thursday, March 20, 2008

some people are just plain RUDE!

Why do people have to be really mean at times?! I am so upset right now and I can't really get over it that I couldn’t help not to let it out. It is a human nature to do # 2… something that you have no control of… even if you’re at work… or wherever you may be. I was exactly in that situation when 3 lady visitors came in the bathroom and one started saying… “OMG this is embarrassing! This is really embarrassing! I think I might stay outside! No! No I’m fine! I’ll stay outside!” And take note... with a whiny voice! How rude! I didn’t know what to do. I felt awkward. I felt angry. I felt ashamed. Grrr!!!

Monday, March 17, 2008

Adoy to tie the knot!

My brother is getting married on September. I think I can now talk about this assuming most of the family has already been told and that it was long before announced in his girlfriend’s friendster page. Mama wants me to be there… not that I don’t want to but I just went home for a visit 3 months ago. Airfare is definitely not cheap aside from the money I would need during my stay there. IFC said he doesn’t need to go (which I am not agreeable to). I haven’t decided yet though. I mean I haven't even applied for a travel parole so... we'll see...

Friday, March 14, 2008

I'm BoReD tO dEaTh!!!

Tuesday, March 11, 2008

crazy thought!

I phoned Nanay (my grandma) last night and as usual she was crying. She was saying she’s getting older and weaker as days pass by. She said she was scolded by Tita Aba that she only said… “That’s how it is!” when I asked her why. We went on with our conversation and she mentioned that 2 of her cousins died just recently and that they (including her), are going “there” one by one. Then I said… “That’s why you were scolded!” She even told me she had the clothes I bought her washed and ironed and that don’t even bother to buy her anything else… that will already do for her. We went on and on and on till we said our goodbyes.

Then, I decided to call Tita Aba and during the course of our conversation, she also mentioned about the “clothes” that Nanay was talking about. I misunderstood it! Nanay was referring to the dress that I bought her for our wedding. And apparently, that has a connection to her cousins’ passing.

It was a long night for me yesterday. I wasn’t able to sleep right away. I know she is ok and in good health. I know being emotional is just part of getting old. I know I could still be with her the next time I go home. Meantime, I will just call her more often so she won’t feel sad…

Monday, March 10, 2008

keeping my fingers crossed...

I’m planning to take a few days off for Kuya Lito and Ate Irmee’s visit. It didn’t hit me though until yesterday that the other division will have their audit soon. I asked my co-worker this AM and he said he’s not sure when it’s going to be as they keep on changing the dates. I hope it won’t be in time that they are here. I actually have nothing to do with that audit. It’s just that I know my co-worker will be really busy to be doing my work while I’m away. :)

Wednesday, March 05, 2008

under recession?!

I wonder what’s happening to the economy right now. My sister Aou lost her job 2 weeks ago after the company was sold and the new owner decided to close the branch in the Philippines. It was only announced 5 days before they said they were closing. Worst is… their separation pay hasn’t been given up to now and the company is planning to file for bankruptcy. Aou was able to find another job in just a week but decided to quit after only 3 days. She said she applied for an administrative assistant position but when she actually reported for work, it seemed like she has more responsibilities than expected. It looked like she was also the customer service assistant, accounting assistant and receptionist… all at the same time. I hope she finds a good one soon.

IFC, on the other hand, still hasn’t found a job yet. He’s really bored now. I told him to set up a time table that in the event that he can’t find anything, say in 2 months, just enroll in a healthcare related course. He agreed though he doesn’t know yet which course to take. I think that’s really one issue when migrating abroad. You just can’t expect to stay in your field. Most of the time, you would have to consider shifting to another career just so you can move on.