Showing posts with label baby. Show all posts
Showing posts with label baby. Show all posts

Saturday, October 04, 2008

Ganirelix

The doctor asked me to start using ganirelix... another self-injecting drug. I was asked to take it with me for my appointment yesterday. The nurse gave me the 1st shot as it has to be done in the morning. This drug gives longer cramping than the gonal-f. It hurts a lot leaving a red mark for a while.





Thursday, October 02, 2008

fertility treatment!

I’m undergoing fertility treatment right now. My doctor suggested that I do the self-injecting meds since I’ve already tried clomid for more than a year and I didn’t get pregnant. I started using gonal-f rff pen on September 19th and my visits to the doctor are becoming more frequent because of that. I also have to give blood samples every time to see how my body is reacting to the meds. They are constantly monitoring me so I somehow don’t worry and sometimes forget the possible side effects.

Yesterday, I had another visit to the doctor who told me that my estrogen level is really high. I must admit I know very little on human anatomy that I asked him if that is something I should worry about. He said… “Well, kind of”. He told me that I’m starting to produce follicles slowly. Preferably, that should be at the same level with the increase of estrogen. A high estrogen level may cause fluids in the lungs and around the abdomen area… with the patient looking pregnant when she’s really not.

I know there are risks involved so I just make sure I’m doing everything as told. Sometimes I’m already asking myself if I can still continue with this but I really want to have a baby soon. It entails a lot of time, effort and money but you got to do what you have to do.



Friday, August 08, 2008

day of the surgery...

Yesterday was the day!

As we were about to leave the apartment, I suddenly felt the need to do #2. I wasn’t sure if it’s because I was nervous or I really had to. Anyway, we were supposed to be at the Ambulatory no later than 830 AM. We arrived there at exactly 824 AM.

The paperwork at the Admitting was taking long. My doctor went out to the lobby and spoke to me… I introduced IFC as well. The nurse called me soon after. IFC and I went to the dressing room then proceeded to Exam Room 4 for preliminary testing… BP was taken, medical history was reviewed, allergies to drugs and latex, etc. etc. The anaesthesiologist came after, discussed how the surgery will go… I’ll be put to sleep (with a general anaesthesia), will breath in an oxygen tube, will have to have an endoscopy, laparoscopy, hysteroscopy, tubal lavage and some other procedures that I can’t remember the names.

Then, we walked towards the operating room (OR). I was really nervous that time. All the more I got scared when I saw about 7 people (maybe more) inside the OR not to mention all those apparatus including the lights on the ceiling that I just saw on TV before. I laid down the table. A nurse started putting patches on my chest… I guess to monitor my vitals. The anaesthesiologist on my left started putting the IV. She said I’ll feel something like a bee sting and some kind of burning on my hand. While she was doing that, she asked me what my favorite form of relaxation was. I said “beach”. She asked “where?” I said “nothing specific as long as there’s water”. She insisted so I said “let’s say the Philippines where I’m from”. She said “I’m not taking you there… you can’t relax in a place where your family is”. How about I take you to Maldives?” The nurse on my right put the oxygen mask and said “breathe normally”. Then, I looked at the ceiling, it got blurry, and the next time I know I was in the recovery room.

My doctor approached me and said that everything is normal. The left fallopian tube turned out to be open… which is in contradiction to what my doctor thought with the result of the hysterogram. He said he’ll see me in a month and probably start giving me the “injectables” as supposed to clomid. I then assumed that he just did the laparoscopy and endoscopy. He didn’t have to do the rest. I mean I don’t see the need to be dilating a tube that is open in the 1st place.

Soon, IFC was there beside me.

A nurse said I can’t be discharged unless I pee at least a 100 cc. So beside the dextrose I have, I tried drinking as much fluids as I can just so I can pee and eventually go home. The 1st try, the nurse opened the faucet (which I think has a psychological effect to help) and left me in the bathroom. I couldn’t. I mean I felt my bladder was heavy but it just wasn’t coming out. I went back inside. And while the nurse was taking off the IV, I felt I needed to go. And so I did but the container showed it was a little less than 100 cc. But thank goodness the nurse said I passed.

IFC helped me dressed up. He got the car and a nurse walked me to it.

We were still in the highway when I felt again the need to pee. We didn’t know what to do. I put my jeans under my legs in case I can’t hold it any longer. IFC said “can you still manage it till we reach Kohls? “ I said I’ll try. But I can’t anymore so he stopped by Applebee’s and I told the lady (while showing my wrist tag) that I just came out of the hospital and I really need to use the bathroom. She was nice enough to let me go.

Then, I was home.

Tuesday, August 05, 2008

out-patient surgery

Remember that hysterogram I had on June?! Well it turned out that my left fallopian tube is blocked (based on the pictures from the x-ray). My doctor said he doesn’t know why so he needs to perform a laparoscopy. And for him to unblock the tube, he needs to do a hysteroscopy as well.

The doctor said it’s not really a problem since the right tube is open. The chances of getting pregnant are lower though. The thing is… if I ovulate on my bad side, then I’ll never get pregnant!

Anyway, I’m having the surgery this Thursday… must admit I’m kind of scared!

Wednesday, June 18, 2008

a loud OUCH!

I started seeing an infertility doctor where it entails undergoing a series of tests. I had an x-ray called ”hysterogram” at the North Shore Hospital yesterday. I already had an idea of how it’s done even before going there as I was given this piece of paper with instructions and warning if you may call it as such. It was a short procedure… no longer than 5 minutes I think. All I can say is a loud OUCH! That hurt… a lot! Imagine feeling so much pain and they ask you to relax! Sigh! But I guess I really have to go through all these troubles if I want to have a baby…