Thursday, January 24, 2008

8 things I am grateful for...

a tag from Caryl...

1. good health
2. a loving and caring husband
3. a family who stays together
4. work
5. vacation in “Pinas”
6. thoughtful friends
7. having the “means” to help others
8. being blessed with so many more

Christmas Tag!

Somehow I’m having a problem copying and pasting the original post of Caryl. I don’t want to re-type the whole thing so I’ll just copy Caryl’s personal definition of Christmas.

Rule:
Make a paragraph or two regarding your personal meaning of Christmas below the paragraph of the one who tagged you and you may put your name at the end of the paragraph linking back to your blog or right to the post of this particular tag. Then you tag as many as you can.

Christmas is annual festive that celebrates the birth of Christ with the tradition of gift giving and celebrating the day with the whole family. - A Mother’s Horizon

It is the season of giving, commemorating Jesus’ birth and the best time for family and friends to get together. - It’s All About Me!

"Ninang" tag!

... and another one!

This meme was created to remind us “Ninongs” and “Ninangs” the number of our godchildren and our responsibility towards them as they grow and mature as better Christians. Here are the rules:
• List all the names of your godchildren
• Tag at least 5 bloggers
• Update the Tag Train

The following are the ones that I can remember:
Kyle
Aldrin
Jonathan
Pia
JR
Janice’s, Lerma’s and Lyn’s daughters (sorry I can’t remember their names)

The Tag Train Started Here - Bluepanjeet - Joy - Scarty - Yen - Peachy – Abie - Kitts – Irmee - Faye - "You" {you put your link here}

Tag for New Year!

another one from Ate Irmee...

Here’s the rule: Remove 1 question from below, and add in your personal question, make it a total of 20 questions, then tag 8 people in your list, list them out at the end of this post. Notify them in their chat box that he/she has been tagged. Whoever does the tag will have blessings from all.

1. What color do you like most? White
2. If you have the chance, what would you probably say to your beloved one? I Love you
3. Where is the place that you want to go the most? Europe
4. Which part of you that you hate the most? My tummy
5. When you encounter a sad moment, what would you do? Eat
6. What are you afraid to lose the most? Family
7. If you win $1 million, what would you do? Buy a house, invest, and share some of it to my family
8. What do you loved the most last year (2007)? “Pinas” vacation
9. List out 3 good points of the person who tagged you. sweet, creative and thoughtful
10. What is your new yrs resolution for your behalf? To be fit physically
11. Till now, what is the moment that you regret the most? Been in the US for almost 6 years and I haven’t pursued getting a CPA license.
12. Which type of person do you hate the most? Phony
13. What is your ambition? Travel
14. If you had one wish what would you wish for? Baby
15. How did you celebrate new year? We went to Tita Gie’s house.
16. It is already 2008, do you have a new year’s resolution? Save more. And I want to look more presentable by making sure that I always fix my hair and put a little make up.
17. What do you look forward to in 2008? “GC”
18. What is the only thing you've done in 2007 that you wish won't happen again on 2008? Shopped too much
19. Describe year 2007 in one word. Content
20. What is one thing/gadget you can’t live without? Computer

I can’t think of a question so I just answered Ate Irmee’s # 20…

Name Tag

This one is from Ate Irmee!

F : People wild and crazy adore you
A : Gorgeous
Y : Loved by everyone
E : deeply in love with his/her gf/bf

What a great description of my name huh! :)

Name Meaning Here:

A: Gorgeous
B: Loves people
C: Really easy to fall in love with
D: Is great in bed
E: deeply in love with his/her gf/bf
F: People wild and crazy adore you
G: Never let people tell you what to do
H:Freakin’ beautiful eyes
I: Loves to laugh
J: Makes people laugh
K: Really silly
L: BEST SMILE
M: Makes dating fun
N: Sexy
O: Has one of the best personalities ever
P: Popular with all types of people
Q: A hypocrite
R: Good bf/gf
S: Lives life for fun
T: Great kisser
U: Gets blamed for everything
V: Not judgmental
W: Very broad minded
X: Never let people tell you what to do
Y: Loved by everyone
Z: Lives life for fun

Wednesday, January 23, 2008

airline experience!

I would like to share with you our airline experience/s but I’m going to make this some sort of a “blind item”…

Our tickets were purchased 8 months prior to the scheduled departure just so we could avail of the (I thought cheapER) price. This airline is cheaper by $360 per person compared to (my “fave”) Korean Airlines. We thought that this is kind of a significant amount to sacrifice. $360 x 2 for both me and IFC can just be added to our pocket money.

The question is “what kind of service did we really get?” Let me just enumerate some specific instances…

1. I-94 is usually surrendered whenever you leave the US. The attendant (upon check in) just said “Whatever you want! I’ll take it it’s up to you!” It’s not that I’m expecting everyone to know everything but I think in this case, he should not to mention that he also asked someone else. And guess what? We were questioned by the immigration officer at the port of entry why we still have it.
2. No english newspaper
3. The plane had an unpleasant smell.
4. No toothbrush and toothpaste in the lavatories
5. All flights that we took had some delays considering that the weather was in good condition.
6. IFC was coughing really bad during the flight back. I asked for a bottled water but the stewardess said they don’t have any. I told her “My husband is coughing… are you expecting us to keep asking you for a cup of water?” Her reply? “Next time you can just bring an empty bottle of water.” Great! How can they have no bottled water? They have 1st class passengers. I would have been pleased had she told me I’ll have to pay for it. Not only that! I saw her gave one to a Chinese in the same row we were seated.
7. They only offered water for all those times that they were not serving meals. I’ve been to other airlines which offered nuts or even bananas at those instances.
8. It was also the 1st time for me to have had something like this for breakfast on a flight. And since IFC was coughing, his throat was dry that he didn’t want to have that. I requested for noodles. That same stewardess in #6 said “they’re already given out”. 2things… 1) I saw her gave a cup to a Chinese seated behind the person I mentioned in #6; and 2) I saw one box under a seat near the lavatory with 1 cup still there. And these happened after I asked. What the hell! Argh!

Hmmm… what else? Well, these are all I could think of so far. Overall, I’ll give them a 2 out of 10 and that 2 points is only because they’re price was cheaper. Hmp!

Tuesday, January 22, 2008

recollection of sorts

I know this is long overdue... and please, bear with me if this is some sort of jumping from one topic to another. Another post will be made for our “airline experience”.

Anyway, we had a big storm (as mentioned in an earlier post) the day before our flight. We were so worried that we might have some delays or worst, cancellations. Thank goodness the sun came out! :)

The plane landed around 1020AM and we were cleared at the immigration in just half an hour. It felt good being “home” again. And you can definitely tell as it was very hot that we were sweating like crazy. IFC started sniffing and sneezing (allergic rhinitis which he doesn’t have here) as soon as we got out of the airport. His parents and sister was waving… his mom crying with joy as they approached us. But my family was no where in sight and my brother Adoy wasn’t picking up his phone when I called. I just started feeling annoyed! It wasn’t that long and I saw Papa and Mama walking towards us. I was just happy to see them. We had a quick stop at Duty Free and bought some chocolates, cookies, cigar and liquor.

Lunch was at Seaside, Mall of Asia. What a nice way to start our vacation! Different kinds of grilled seafood in front of us! Oh I missed that tuna belly! It was just full of fun… everyone was all smiles. We were so loud for all you know it! One funny thing was we didn’t have the appetite to eat because of the hot weather! But hey, sweating like a dog is really an effective way to lose weight! I mean we’ve eaten salad for almost 3 months but I don’t remember ever dropping the pounds. So much about that… I’m also glad they liked our “pasalubongs”. And if ever you’re wondering, I didn’t have any jetlag but not with IFC! He was actually asleep during the day and awake at night for the 1st 2 days at least.

IFC and I were mostly at our respective parents’ houses. We separated upon arrival which was earlier agreed on the fact that our vacation was only for 2 weeks.

I had my 1st taste of Jollibee when Daighne and I went to see Tita Aba in Marikina the next day. Hmmm… if only I could eat everything at once! :) I also got a Starbucks 2008 planner without having to complete the stickers required. Thanks to my cousin Gail!

Nanay stayed with me in San Andres till Christmas. IFC even made me feel guilty saying I asked Nanay to stay and yet I’m always out! I think Nanay was ok. I just made sure I was home come night time. Of course I didn’t forget to visit Tatay at the cemetery. IFC and I were off to Laur on 12/21 which happened to be Tatay’s 10th death anniversary. Tito Erik cooked grilled bangus and “tiim” as requested by IFC.

I did see some of IFC’s friends/former officemates from CBC Paranaque. We also visited “Ninong” Anson and “Ninang” Nene at their shop who in turn invited us for dinner that same day at Saisaki Restaurant in Alabang Town Center.

Tita Necie has prepared “merienda” for us (different kinds of “kakanin”! Oh I love that embutido with “pandesal”) when we paid a visit. She also asked Kuya Louie to get us some sweet delicacies.

It was also nice to have spent time with my friends from Castrol.

1st round: Lunch at Max’s on 12/20 with Mars, Ernie, Ruby, Fhatty and Dudes. Vel and Jing later joined us.
2nd round: Lunch at Italianni’s on 12/22. Vel, Joey (thanks for arranging that!), Daisy (with her son Sean), Jing, Noel, and Dudes (with hubby Chris and son Bo) were all there. To Daisy and Dudes… I really enjoyed your kids! They are so cute!
3rd round: Lunch at BP office on 12/27. Thanks guys for the promo items…Ruby for the planner, Fhat for the vintage shirts and Badoodles for the mugs. Yey! :)

We also had a fun day at EK! It was a perfect time of bonding with our siblings. I may have not enjoyed the rides (since I can’t anyway) but I had fun taking pictures.

Ate Irmee even suggested that we go to Sonya’s Garden but believe it or not, it rained during midday… the exact time that we originally planned on going. We had lunch at Barrio Fiesta instead.

Christmas celebration was great too! I was at Pilar for lunch. Mommy’s barbeque is really the best! IFC was counting how many sticks I had. Dinner was at San Andres. It was some sort of Christmas cum Reunion celebration. Many relatives came but it could have been better if everyone made it.

There were actually so many things that we wanted to do or could have done if not only for that short time that we had. It was literally like meeting different groups of people almost everyday. The kids… Miggy, Daighne, Kyle and my cousins were just all fun to be with! I exceedingly enjoyed the company of our family… which also left me thinking why we haven’t done these things before! Anyhow, we still tried our best and made the most of our trip. I guess it’s going to be another 2 years (minimum) for us to go back there…

Friday, January 18, 2008

Give me the enthusiasm to blog! Please!!! Please!!! Please!!! Aaaaaaaaaaaaaaahhhhhhhhhhhhhh!!!

Sunday, December 16, 2007

it's a little "hot" here!

I'm finally here in "Pinas". We arrived yesterday... had lunch with the whole family including IFC's at "Dampa". This place is well known for great selection of seafoods. The weather is kind of uncomfortable though. I never had jetlag whenever I travel but I was having such a bad headache yesterday PM. I had a good night sleep. It was cooler this AM when I woke at 5. Yes that early! :) But an hour hasn't even passed and I'm starting to have head pains again. Oh I will have to deal with this for the next 2 weeks but it's ok! I'm still glad to be here!

Thursday, December 13, 2007

wishing for a "nicer" weather tomorrow!

We have a big storm coming around noon today. The forecast said it’s going to be a “wintry mix”… snow, sleet and rain. It has started actually. I can hear the sound of the sleets as they hit the window. I’ve been keeping track of tomorrow’s weather forecast. It’s supposed to be the only nice day of the week a few days ago but now seems like we’re also getting few snow showers tomorrow. I hope it doesn’t get worse than that. I don’t want to delay our trip to the Philippines. We’ve waited long enough for that!

Wednesday, December 12, 2007

5 things to look back tag!

Got this from Ate Irmee...

instruction:***
1. posts 5 links to 5 of your previously written posts. the posts have to relate to the 5 key words given below.
2. tag 5 other friends to do this. try to tag at least 2 new acquaintances (if not, your current blog buddies will do) so that you get to know them each a little bit better.
3. don’t forget to read the archived post and leave comments.

link 1 must be about family - "Nanay" as I call my grandma…
link 2 must be about friend – be happy, Malu!
link 3 must be about yourself – my 2007 birthday!
link 4 must be about your love – It’s been 2 years!

Feel free to tag yourself... :)

Thursday, December 06, 2007

8 more days... and counting!

I have not updated this blog lately. I’m too busy at work aside from the fact that we’re leaving for the Philippines next week. I just can’t wait! IFC and I are just excited… even the people back home. I’m sure our Christmas this year will be full of fun knowing we’ll be with our families and friends.

Wednesday, November 28, 2007

damaged after being washed

We went shopping with Manang Fely’s family last Saturday at Tanger Outlet. I badly need pairs of jeans as I can’t fit into my old ones anymore. It’ll be great to have sweat pants too (since winter is almost here) I thought. Anyway, I was able to get those.

I also got a knit sweater from DKNY which was damaged after being washed. It has become a habit for me to wash new clothes before wearing them. Even the label says “machine wash cold” so I didn’t have 2nd thoughts of throwing it in the machine. I was so disappointed that my money was wasted for something I haven’t even worn. Tita Laling suggested that I call the customer service. She said sometimes they accept returns without the tag so long as I explain it to them. I did call them and I am just happy that they are going to take back the item for an exchange or possibly a refund.

Monday, November 26, 2007

Tag from Caryl

5 Things Found In My Bag
- wallet
- umbrella
- keys
- cellphone
- lip balm/tissue/hand sanitizer

5 Things Found In My Wallet
- credit cards
- driver’s license
- atm card
- some cash… bills & coins
- receipts

5 Things Found In My Room
- bed
- closets
- laptop
- side table
- mother & child image

5 Things I’ve Always Wanted To Do
- photography
- digital scrap booking
- culinary arts
- travel
- bar tending

5 Things I’m Currently Into
- learning photography
- holiday preps (cards & gifts)
- will try to make a cheese cake
- Blogging
- packing for “Pinas” trip

5 People to Tag for This Meme
you, you, you, you and you!

Tuesday, November 20, 2007

my two good friends...






L-R: Tima & Bibay

Monday, November 19, 2007

childish?!

I threw a tantrum yesterday because I wanted to go see the tree at Rockefeller Center… only to find out that it won’t be ready till Thanksgiving Day. *Toink* I feel bad for IFC though. Hehehe.

Friday, November 16, 2007

CR-V wanted!

We’ve been planning to buy a new car. We always end up saying it’s not really a necessity for now not to mention the fact that new cars are very expensive. Nevertheless, we still check out for deals from car dealers regularly. IFC has been thinking of buying a CR-V so he specifically said the other night to get a Honda Car Quote. I found this website where they give you 2 quotes on the spot for free. They will help you find the best car for you from the specific model down to the auto insurance. It even gives you some tips on how to maintain your car like oil change which doesn’t have to necessarily be done at a service shop. This will definitely be a big help for us to save some money.

moved back!

While the office renovation is not yet finished, we finally moved back to our room. It’s much brighter and really looks spacious. I’m definitely more comfortable now and can actually concentrate better with work.

Tutorial Help

Kids nowadays are so engrossed with computer games, going out with friends, etc. It’s not that they’re not interested in school but they just need some extra help especially if both parents are working. My cousin (who is 14 years of age) for instance, is very impatient when it comes to Math. I told my Aunt there’s a lot Math Tutors out there who can really help… and for a fact that most kids tend to like the subject.