Monday, January 29, 2007

tagged!

I was tagged by Weng on:

5 Things That People Don't Know About Me

1. It has always been my fantasy to become an image model (endorser) of Guess. Yes you’ve read it right! Haha! And I really don’t know why! I’m not even photogenic by nature. Modeling or anything related to that sense is not even in our blood. The only modeling experience I had was in high school when we had to wear the clothes that we saw in Home Economics class. It’s free to dream anyway.

2. I don’t like soft/saggy bread. It’s either I’ll toast it before I put the condiments or better yet, make the sandwich when I’m about to eat.

3. I won’t stop whining till I get what I want. To me, there are so many ways to whine… not only the annoying one we know about. I would use a lot of “parinig” as they call it in our language especially if I can’t ask for it directly.

4. My brothers and sister used to call me Ms. Minchin… a character from the cartoon series “Princess Sarah” who’s an old maid, very strict and organized. I don’t want any mess in the house. When we were kids, I would ask my siblings to sleep in the afternoon so they could have snack. I never gave money to my siblings for pagers, cell phones or even for dating. I used to tell them they’re still students so act like one. They will have all these luxuries when they have their own job anyway.

5. I have fear of heights. I can’t be on those fun-rides like roller coaster, etc. I can’t really take it other than the fact that I also have motion sickness. I remember that time when Castrol (the company where I used to work) sponsored a Team Building Program. I was 40 ft above ground and I had to cross from one tree to the other just by walking in a single log that’s not even flat. I cried a lot and got so much support from the leaves and anything that I could hold on to. I did it though!

Now, I’m tagging:

1. Caryl;
2. Jheng;
3. Ate Irmee;
4. Erica and
5. Carmela

Monday, January 22, 2007

quality time!

I feel relaxed… well not really. I suddenly remembered sometimes you feel more tired if you had too much rest. Haha! But yesterday was one of those happy and stress-free days. We just stayed home practically the whole day talking, giggling, watching NBA, eating and feeling guilty (as charged) for not having gone to the church. I cooked 3 dishes yesterday and I didn’t feel beat up at all.

Backgrounder...
We’re always tired during the week being at work for 12-14 hours including traveling... 12 hours for me and 14 for him. It’s as if we don’t want to do anything anymore when we get home. And so we have to cook 5 dishes every Sunday for our one whole week’s food. We refrigerate them and just heat up whatever we’re going to eat. I try to finish all the chores (cleaning up of the apartment, laundry and food shopping) on Saturdays while Irvin is at work.

Bottom line is… I definitely had some quality time with my hubby. :)

Sunday, January 21, 2007

anything goes...

Irvin's christmas gifts...





California Pizza Kitchen





Pho-Bang Restaurant (Vietnamese Cuisine)





1996 pictures that Tita Baby sent me



Thursday, January 18, 2007

HaPpY bIrThDaY, Papa!!!






Papa is always in a light mood... always smiling and is fond of throwing out jokes. He's not much of a talker (it is Mama who's always been vocal to us in most things especially if we've made mistakes) but he can be serious when he does. Best wishes for my funny and loving father!

Birthday greetings also to my friends... Ellen and Janice... All the best guys! :)

Oh and belated happy birthday too to my niece Daighne! She turned 6 years old last January 15th.

Tuesday, January 16, 2007

Wednesday, January 10, 2007

what we are missing in Pinas...





The company of family and friends is what we miss the most. Of course, we have some friends here but family is family. It's still different when you're in your so-called "home".

Anyway, I got this picture from Ate Irmee's webshots album. It could have been nicer if we were there to celebrate the fun of Miggy and Kyle's birthday party.

Maybe next time... who knows?!

Monday, January 08, 2007

samu't saring kwento

I really don't have the time to blog lately. Work has been taking all my energy plus there are chores to be done at home.

Anyway, we went to see the Big Tree at the Rockefeller Center and Empire State Building as well. I've been here for almost 5 years but it was just my 1st time to go there.






more pictures here...

Christmas was spent with Tita Laling and her family in Massachusetts. It was just a simple celebration but both Irvin and I felt like we're home. Of course we were still wishing we're in the Philippines but being with Tita Laling kind of filled the emptiness we have.

For New Year... well not really on the day itself... we went to Tita Gie in New Jersey on December 30th and stayed overnight. We were at Manang Fely's house when the clock striked 12AM. We've been planning to go to Times Square for the ball dropping but Irvin was just so tired that we decided not to go anymore.







more pictures here...

Irvin fell asleep on Christmas eve and happened to have a pose that Tita Laling said was sort of "cute". We took some shots with him sleeping. Good thing he didn't get mad... Haha!





Can you tell how much Irvin likes his gift?! Click here and here. Please bear with the mess in our apartment. I realized that only after I took the pictures. Oh he's really been talking about that latest perfume from Versace from the time we saw it at Macy's. I thought he couldn't guess what it is so I put it in a bigger box but I was wrong. :) I'll post some pictures of what he gave me for Christmas in another post.

Lastly, we want to greet Kyle a very happy birthday! Belated birthday greetings too for Miggy! He just turned 1 year old. Kuya Lito and Ate Irmee threw a birthday party for him and Miggy (who's birthday was actually on December 24th) last Saturday. You can view the pictures here...

Tuesday, January 02, 2007

I was online yesterday busy looking at this that I forgot to make a post. Haha! I ended up not buying it anyway. I'm still thinking though. :) Oh well!

Start of a new year could mean an opportunity to do things better. It's a perfect chance to start anew. So let's not deal too much on the past but concentrate on what we have right now and what we can do for tomorrow.

Happy New Year! Wishing you all the best in 2007!

Monday, December 25, 2006

Happy Christmas Everyone!

Thursday, December 21, 2006

Tatay's Death Anniversary...

Today marks the 9th death anniversary of my paternal grandfather. It’s already been a long time but it still feels like it was just yesterday when we lost Tatay. It’s sad indeed but I know he has already found eternal peace with God.

I miss you so much, Tatay! You’re always in my thoughts and it’ll stay that way forever! I love you! Oh and don't you worry about Nanay... we are taking care of her. Tito Paqui makes sure she's in good health. :)

Friday, December 08, 2006

Freezing Cold!

Right Now...

at work: Port Washington, NY (11050)

Partly Cloudy
17 degrees Farenheit / -8.33 degrees Celsius
Feels like 1 degree Farenheit

and at home: Jamaica, NY (11432)

Partly Cloudy and Windy
19 degrees Farenheit / -7.22 degrees Celsius
Feels like 2 degrees Farenheit

Brrrrrrr!!! It's freaking cold!

Tuesday, December 05, 2006

things to blog soon...

Nope it's nothing really exciting. I just want to say that I have a lot of things to blog. It's just that I'm too lazy to do it and... too busy with work, wrapping christmas presents for the kids (I love gift-giving but sometimes it can be too stressful.), writing christmas cards to family, relatives and friends... both locally and internationally. Anyway, here is the list of what I'm supposed to blog:

- our CPK (California Pizza Kitchen) craving
- Thanksgiving Celebration at Manang Fely's House
- Shopping spree on 'Black Friday' and Thanksgiving Weekend
- balikbayan boxes sent to our families

Monday, December 04, 2006

'reming'

Typhoon 'Reming' was a total disaster to many Filipinos in the province of Albay. Many people lost their properties and more importantly their loved-ones. It's been 5 days since the typhoon hit the area and a lot of people are still missing. I hope the Philippine government will do everything to help our countrymen. Let's pray not only for the physical but for the mental healing as well.

Monday, November 27, 2006

My sis-in-law's birthday!



Happy Birthday, Sharyn!!! Wishing you more happy years to come! :) Sorry about the shirts... "M. K." I really didn't know... Haha!

Thursday, November 23, 2006

Happy "Turkey" Day!

It’s Thanksgiving Day and it’s the 1st time ever that I’m not spending it in MA… well since the time I came to the US. IFC couldn’t take off from work so we might just go to Manang Fely tonight. Anyway, whatever it is, the show must go on.

Happy Thanksgiving, everyone!

check out the annual parade sponsored by Macy*s...

Sunday, November 19, 2006

latest updates!

Delayed anniversary gift
We really wanted to have something special for the 1st wedding anniversary but due to some unexpected events, it didn’t go as planned. And being the practical people that we are, we’d rather ask what one wants instead of making surprises. I know! I know! Of course I would love to be surprised at times too.

Anyway, we got ourselves an iPod. Yes we bought 2 iPods… a black one for him and a white for me… both 30GB iPod video. At 1st I was telling him we’ll just get the 4GB nano. We don’t need a much bigger capacity anyway. I mean how much songs can you actually listen to right! Besides, I want the limited edition nano. But Nano is priced at $199 and just for an additional $50 you’ll get the 30GB iPod video. Will you still have second thoughts?!






iPods are usually charged in the computer using a USB cable. But we’re not always in the computer so we also bought a USB power adapter.





*****

Casino Royale




When I 1st saw the preview of this 007 comeback movie, I was like… Who the heck is this guy! No offense but I think Pierce Brosnan is way…way more good looking than Daniel Craig. Then, on a Friday AM in the bus, I saw someone reading a paper with Daniel Craig in the front page saying “The Best Bond movie since Connery”. I got curious and asked Irvin if he wants to see the movie and apparently he said yes.

And so we went to see the movie yesterday. We went for the 1st screening where tickets are half the regular price. Daniel Craig? He is hot… as in “macho”. He did great in the movie… acted like a real pro… a veteran. And I definitely recommend Casino Royale. It was so worth it. The actions were breath-taking and definitely wasn’t boring.

And for those of you who wants to try the strategy game, click this

You can also listen to the music played in the movie…

*****

Olive Garden



Irvin and I have been to some restaurants and so far, he finds the food quite ordinary until we went to Olive Garden. He liked the food so much that we’re thinking of going back.

House salad…




Minestrone soup…




Chicken parmigiana…




Shrimp risotto with asparagus…




Chocolate mousse cake (which I find kind of different and I didn’t really enjoy)…




I forgot to take a picture of the bread sticks though…

*****

McLaren
Our big boss got a new car from Mercedes Benz. I hope he won’t mind that I’m blogging about it. I guess not! I even told him I took pictures of it (from the parking lot at work) to show to Irvin. Besides, he was the one who said it costs $450k anyway. A co-worker said there’s a price difference between a sports car and a racing car. I didn’t even know. This McLaren is considered a racing car that’s why it’s very expensive.





Who wouldn’t want to have this luxury car anyway!

Thursday, November 09, 2006

if i could turn back time...

Then... skinny, Now... gained some "ehem" pounds (actually 13lbs to be exact. lol);

Then... young looking, Now... very matured looking;

Then... smooth & clear skin, Now... breaking out (haven't adjusted to the weather);

Then... lots of friends, Now... not really (most of them have their own gimmicks... mind your own attitude);

Then... I was home (in the Philippines), Now... I am in my adopted country (New York);

taken during the product launch in 1999
(credits to Jonel for e-mailing this)

Wednesday, November 08, 2006

birthday wishes and some tributes...



HaPpY bIrThDaY, Tita Baby!!! May you have many more healthy years to come! Stay pretty always! :)

*****
Today is Tita Baby’s birthday but let me just share some of my experiences with my two great aunts…

Having grown up in my grandparents’ care (till the age of 12), I got more attached to my relatives on my father’s side. Papa has 2 sisters of whom I’m really close with. I don’t know how you would exactly call it but Filipinos have this expression of calling your 3 daughters (if you happen to have) “tatlong maria”. They were saying I was a darling when I was a kid and they didn’t really consider me as a niece. I’m more of the 3rd “maria”. Even some neighbors thought I was the youngest sibling…

Tita Aba and Tita Baby are cool aunts. It’s just fun whenever I am with either one of them. I just love talking to them… just about anything under the sun. I could spend long hours on the phone with them and not even feel bored.

Tita Aba and I used to go to Marikina Sports Center to exercise. We always had a good time and I just miss it! We both love eating. Oh and let me not forget her super yummy spaghetti and spare ribs caldereta. Tita Aba is always there to listen, to laugh with you and give you support whenever you need it.

Tita Baby, on the other hand, would talk more about beauty regimens. She always tells me you could stay young and pretty if you just take care of your skin. She’s been living abroad for so long now. I was still young when she went to Jordan (after she passed the board exams for nursing I think). She’s also been to Vienna, Austria before she settled in Switzerland. Despite that, she never forgets to keep in touch. She’s told me so many things on survival. I guess there are just some things that only people who are in the same shoes would understand.

So to Tita Aba and Tita Baby, thanks for being there… always! :)

Monday, November 06, 2006

birthday greetings!

Happy Birthday to my childhood friends Aileen (Nov. 6) and Karen (Nov. 5)! Wishing you guys all the best always! Mwah! :)

Friday, October 27, 2006

The Famous Filipino Adobo

Most people say the 1st dish that one would learn making is ‘adobo’. Why? It’s easy and simple. The ingredients are very basic too not to mention that it doesn’t get spoiled right away even without refrigerating. Sure I know how to cook ‘adobo’ but I think I prefer Irvin’s…




I just asked him to modify it a little by adding some potatoes which he never did before. And it’ll definitely taste better with salted egg and tomatoes on the side. No salted eggs? Hard-boiled eggs can be a substitute too.

Hmmm... now I feel like eating 'adobo'. What about you? :) This recipe might help...

Recipe:
8 whole chicken legs (about 4 pounds), cut into drumstick and thigh sections
1 1/2 cups distilled white vinegar
3 garlic cloves, crushed
2 bay leaves
1/2 tablespoon whole black peppercorns, crushed lightly
1 cup water
3/4 cup soy sauce
3 tablespoons vegetable oil
Chopped scallions, for garnish

Accompaniment: Cooked rice

In a large kettle combine the chicken, vinegar, garlic, bay leaves, peppercorns, and 1 cup water, bring the mixture to a boil, and simmer it, covered, for 20 minutes. Add the soy sauce and simmer the mixture, covered, for 20 minutes. Transfer the chicken with tongs to a plate and boil the liquid for 10 minutes, or until it is reduced to about 1 cup. Let the sauce cool, remove the bay leaves, and skim the fat from the surface.
In a large skillet heat the oil over high heat until it is hot but not smoking and in it saute the chicken, patted dry, in batches, turning it, for 5 minutes, or until it is browned well. Transfer the chicken to a rimmed platter, pour the sauce, heated, over it, and serve the chicken with the rice.

*You can also use pork meat instead of chicken if you wish.