Thursday, August 31, 2006

joke time... cool signs?!

A friend (Hi, Cielo!) forwarded me this email. I don't intend to make fun of Filipinos. No offense po! I just think it's cute! And I'm sure this will make you smile. Would you believe there are also 'cool signs' here in NY?! I just don't take pictures. Hehe! Anyway, here it goes...



BAKA DIPINDI SA KINAIN?!.. nyahahahah


o ano pa hinihintay mo?!.. mura lang ang Bres! nyahahaha


Flease Pollow Rules! nyahahahaha


Wow Kol Shus! nyahahahaha


Bagong Ani eh! hahahaha


Eto malupit!!!.. pinag-isipan talaga yang mga "RULES TO BE FOLLOWS" NA YAN!.. nyahahahaah

Wednesday, August 30, 2006

A friend's birthday!

Happy Birthday, Badoodles! Wishing you all the best as always! Mwah! Take care... :)

celebrity look-alikes

I learned about this website through Pat. I think it's cool and fun so I tried it. Now...

Which celebrities do I look like?
1. face fully made up (picture from the wedding)



2. regular day photo



What about Irvin? - This only proves why a lot of people mistakenly think that he is Chinese...

Thursday, August 24, 2006

Tito Nilo is visiting!

The phone rang at almost 10 pm last night. Irvin and I don’t usually pick up the phone. For all you know it might just be some telemarketers (I know they’re just doing their job but sometimes it’s just hard to make them understand what the word NO means). Anyway, as soon as I said hello, the caller said “Who is this?” I was like... WHO... IS... THIS (with a kind of sarcastic tone in my voice)? Then he said “This is Nilo”. In my mind I was like... Uh-oh it is Irvin’s uncle from Canada! I felt really awkward having heard that and said “Tito Nilo, si Faye po… blah blah blah”. Whew! I apologized to Irvin afterwards. I don’t know but I have this attitude that I believe I should be the one asking who the caller is and not the other way around. It’s no big deal! I just hope he didn’t take any offense on that.

And so, he called to let us know he’s coming this Friday. He’ll be attending a 90th birthday party of another relative (which Irvin doesn’t really know of personally) on Saturday. Irvin offered our apartment for them to stay so he’ll meet them up somewhere tomorrow.

I can tell that Irvin is really happy and excited so I’m giving it my best to support him. I, too, am excited. This will be the 1st time we’ll have guests in the apartment... a relative you know! We then went to bed kind of late talking about what we are going to prepare for them… where could we take them if ever… and that we also need to take them to the party. Tito Nilo used to live in NY about 30 years ago. A lot of things have changed already so it’ll be a good time for him.

Wednesday, August 23, 2006

Life is never easy... abroad!

Economy in the Philippines has not really been good lately… prices of commodities continue to rise, unemployment is still a problem, pay is not that pleasing to majority of people, etc. etc. Each and every individual faces different challenges everyday. And with that, most Filipinos aspire to come to America or let’s just say to go abroad. They think that coming to America is the solution to the many problems they’re dealing with. (Admit it or not, being abroad, they expect a lot from you which sometimes makes me sad. I hate to say this but I feel like I have a big dollar sign written on my face whenever they see me or talk to me.) But hey, it’s not only in the Philippines that you’re to struggle at. Life is hard everywhere. Having a better life demands a lot of sacrifices. It doesn’t just depend on money. We all have our own challenges to face... only that in different forms.

It is true that America is the Land of Opportunity. But it’s not as easy as you think it is. There are laws to comply with and there are procedures to follow. As days pass, they get stricter and stricter because of the terrorists threats. There are also a lot of people here who don’t have jobs believe it or not. Luck doesn’t always knock on your door. And unfortunately, not everyone gets it either. Yes it’s easier to save up if you’re earning dollars. Imagine an exchange rate of P50 to a dollar! But… consider the cost of living in the state you’re at. You also spend dollars for your day to day needs. Sometimes you become sick as hell worrying about your future. There are so many what ifs in your mind. There’s no one you can really count on but yourself being in a foreign place. Some people here couldn’t even get support from relatives… being said, what more can you expect from friends then? I’m just lucky I have Tita Laling and Tita Gie. Likewise, Manang Fely (then landlady and now a principal sponsor in the wedding) has treated me like a family ever since. Also, homesickness will be your greatest enemy. It’s difficult to be away from family and friends. Perhaps, you may be thinking you can overcome that but it’s hard and costly. Tendency is for you to make an overseas call often. The only benefit that I got from that is I lost a lot of weight. You also have to adjust yourself to a new culture. Back home you have helpers to do the chores for you. Here, you have to do everything yourself. Oh and let’s not forget the weather! Imagine yourself chasing the bus in a snowy and chilly weather. Do you still think life is easy abroad?! You tell me…

Friday, August 11, 2006

facing my fears...

Many say I’m too organized… from being orderly, neat, keeping things on schedule down to planning the days ahead. Tita Laling even calls me a ‘neat freak’. My manager at work always reminds me to loosen up. Well let me tell you something… I may look like I’m fine… it may seem like everything is manageable… it may look as if our life is on a really smooth-sailing ride… it may seem like nothing is wrong… but I also have my own fears.

Back then… whenever people would ask me when I’m going to get married, my favorite tag line was “it’ll come”. I was already past the age of 25 but still I felt that it’s still not late. I was 31 when we tied the knot. We’ve waited long enough for that day. And everything seemed to be taking its place little by little. I'm one of the few lucky ones who made it to America where I feel like saving up is easier. I was able to finally get Irvin to join me here. God has been so good! I know that and I’m very thankful for that!

Now I’m already at a stage where I want to start having a family… to have a baby. But can we manage it? Irvin doesn’t even have a job yet. He couldn’t find an employer to sponsor him. Getting an odd job hasn’t been easy either. We can’t even buy a car. It’s ok though… anyway we both agreed that it’s not a priority for now. I’m currently helping my family too financially. Economy has been really bad these days in the Philippines. And in as much as I want to give more, I just couldn’t. There are bills to pay and with me being the only one working, I’m afraid my earnings won’t be enough if we’ll have a baby. Uncle Ken (Tita Laling’s husband) once said that I should have a baby now… that I don’t have to worry too much… that planning is good but sometimes it’s better off taking the risk… that I’m not getting any younger… that we’ll be able to figure it out when the situation comes. Irvin and I also think the same way. We feel that it’s better to have a baby now while he’s not yet working. Well you don’t want to be working and spending all of your earnings for a baby sitter! This is the perfect time… He can take care of his own child and maybe after all my papers are done, our kid will be 2 or 3 years old already. Then we can just take him/her to a daycare and Irvin can start working. And Irvin doesn’t have any problem with that. Whew! What a very great plan I have!

But I’m still confused... not sure on what is the best thing to do! It’s so funny how I detail all my worries and yet, I’m also the one justifying them. Am I really scared? Or I’m just being paranoid? What should I do?

Wednesday, August 02, 2006

Aou

As per my April 18th post, I can’t be happier that my sister finally graduated from college. It was also in that post where I’ve attached a photo taken from a personal camera… disposable I think?!

Now… here are the graduation pictures taken by a professional photographer…






Aou looks radiant and pretty though… I asked her… How come you look like Gladys Reyes (a drama actress in the Philippines) in these pictures?! Do you not agree? Or is it just me?!

Message for Aou:
Iba talaga nagagawa ng make-up at camera na pang-pro noh?! Joke lang ha! :)

Monday, July 31, 2006

it's been 5 years i think?!

I totally forgot to blog about this that even the date I can’t remember anymore…

Anyway, I think it was between July 10-12 when Irvin and I had a petty fight. Irvin has this attitude that he often gives you an indefinite answer which will make you think or guess I should say. Even his ‘no’ answer would mean a yes sometimes. And so what happened was I asked him if he was tired before dinner. He said… no, not really! Then we started talking about the deli owner and he was really upset. I can’t honestly remember what I told him that he suddenly just stopped talking and when I asked him what’s wrong… he said… ‘I’m just tired!’ I didn’t know how to react other than… ‘What? Didn’t I just ask you that earlier?’ I even asked him if I said something that he didn’t like and he kept on saying he’s just tired. We finished dinner… he watched the tv while I cleaned the bathroom… I took a shower then said my goodnight to him and went to bed… he took a shower then went to bed… AND… we were still not talking. It hasn’t been 5 minutes that passed and he was already snoring. So I told myself, he must be really tired. I couldn’t sleep that I was just watching him while he sleeps until tears starting running down my cheeks. I tried not to create any noise as much as I could but he still heard it. He asked me why? I said nothing! He said you wouldn’t cry for no reason! For a few times he’d asked me, I said I’d rather have him tell me everything…exactly how he feels…instead of me guessing what’s on his mind. He said sorry… he said he didn’t mean it…. then we went back to sleep.

When I woke up the next AM, my eyes were swollen and I had a bad headache. I still went to work. And when I reached home that night, I saw this rose taped on the light switch as I opened the door. Wow! It has been years since I last got one from him…yeah not even when he picked me up at the airport when I went home for the wedding. It was really appreciated and… apology was immediately accepted! Haha!

Friday, July 28, 2006

learner's permit for now

Irvin has already been driving in the Philippines for quite sometime now but for him to be able to drive in NY… he still needs to go through the process as if he’s applying as a new driver at the DMV. So he went there this AM. He had to go to the SSA first to get the certificate of ineligibility (form SSA-L676). This is being issued to prove that he can't have a SS Number. Anyway, he took the exam which had 20 items in all in 10 minutes. He said he got a perfect score! Wow! The next thing he’ll do is get the 5-hour class certificate so he could request for a road test schedule.

We don’t have a budget yet for a car especially that he’s not working up to now. But who know right! And at least he can legally drive in NY…

Wednesday, July 26, 2006

he's had enough!

I’ve mentioned before that Irvin works part-time at a Deli. He got bored staying at home and applied for the job. He will only make sandwiches anyway and come on… it is still money. Soon enough he became like an all-around person. He has been patient all this time not to mention that he is underpaid and that the owner has an attitude. Irvin gets paid every Saturday for a week’s job until this past weekend that he only received half of his pay. He was asked to come back Sunday in which he did after the 10AM mass. To our surprise, he was told it was too early and there is no money yet. Imagine he still had to come back that night! Irvin couldn’t stand it any longer and finally quit his job.

It’s so hard to understand how some people can be so unreasonable and very inconsiderate! It’s not really about the money… it’s about what is fair!

Anyway, I told him to just look for another job. Meanwhile, he needs to finish reading the driver’s manual so he could get a NY driver’s license.

Friday, July 21, 2006

how am i feeling today?

-Down in the dumps

-Bewildered

-Troubled

-Vulnerable

-Exasperated

Monday, July 17, 2006

series of events

There’s so much to blog about. It was actually the pictures which caused the delay. I’ve mentioned before… a lot of times… that I rarely use the computer at home. I just want to relax once I reach the apartment. Now back to my updates…

July 8th
Well aside from my sister’s birthday which I have already blogged previously, it was the 1st company picnic for KMC. I’ve been in the company for 4 years but due to the small number of employees, we never had this kind of event before. More often than not, we would just join our sister company for such. And our families (spouse, BF/GF, kids) got to join us too. It was Irvin’s 1st time to meet my officemates. We went to Sunken Meadow State Park in Long Island. It was quite far but was worth it. That was a nice break from the busy days at work. And while I didn’t swim, it was relaxing to have seen the beach…where a lot of people were having fun. Some were sun-bathing. Some were playing games.

Gabriel along with his brother Michael and another co-worker Agnes did a very great job organizing the whole event. They have prepared Brazilian food. The barbecue was really good. I loved it! There was some salad, pickled veggies (better known as “ensalada” in the Philippines), fruits, and this soup that I don’t know the name of… it got beans, sausage, and bacon on it.

We also had games which I didn’t really join. Well Irvin did! There was this game where all the players are in circular position and using the volleyball wherein if you made the ball to fall on the ground, you’ll have to stay sitting in the middle until you catch it. Worst is you’ll be hit by the other players if you can’t catch it. Irvin also played basketball with the guys. After the 2 short games, Irvin said he felt old by playing with them. He said it was now hard for him to move and run. Well, he’s kind of overweight too. Oops sorry ‘theart!

Oh one more thing… we forgot our digicam so we had to buy a disposable one which I regretted so much. The camera itself was $19.99 + $1.72 tax. The processing was $9.99 + $0.86 tax. And… the quality of the prints is so BAD!

Moral lesson of the story: set a reminder for yourself of the things you need to bring at least the night before.

Here are some of the pictures we took…







More pictures here

July 13th
The New York Philharmonic Orchestra is performing out on a free Concert in the Parks (as they call it) every year. Classical music is a great way to relax… very calming. I’ve been to their concert before but I wanted Irvin to experience it so we went to watch it on Thursday. There we were seating on the grass grounds of Cunningham Park. It was set for a 2-hour performance but we didn’t finish it till the end. Too bad we didn’t see the fireworks display.

July 14th
We watched 2 movies… Pirates of the Caribbean-Dead Man’s Chest and Little Man.





Pirates is very much talked about and it’s still no. 1 on its 2nd week. What more can you ask for! You’ve got great actors… Johnny Depp, Keira Knightley and Orlando Bloom. The effects were great. Some are grossed but the graphics were really good. The only thing that I don’t like in that movie… Depp always runs whenever they get in trouble… sign of being cowardly!

I got to like the Wayans brothers in the movie White Chicks where they did a really good job. Little Man was hilarious. Yup I kept on laughing but I was expecting more. I find the story a little ordinary. I mean for these talented actors can do a lot more. Sorry!

Israel-Lebanon War
Why does this have to happen? Why can’t the world have peace? Why do we have to lose the lives of people…especially the innocent ones? The fight between these two countries is getting worse. If you’re going to ask me, I don’t really know what started it! I don’t have any interest of reading the papers! It makes me really sad the fact that I know it is happening and it leaves me to the so many WHY questions! Let’s just pray that this will be over soon… that these people realize the value of life… that they may be able to understand that it’s not really a matter of who is more dominant... They can achieve something only if they talk peacefully and learn to compromise.

Hot Summer
A Heat Wave warning was announced last Saturday. The weather wasn’t bad that day but yesterday was horrible. You wouldn’t even want to go anywhere but stay inside the house with the AC on. This whole week is going to be hot, hazy, muggy and humid. The average temperature is close to the 90s but the feel is between 105-110 degrees. I’m just glad that I’m mostly inside an air conditioned office.

Port Washington, NY Fair, 91°

Monday
98° / 75°

Tuesday
96° / 72°

Wednesday
83° / 70°

Thursday
88° / 72°

Why do we have extreme weather temperatures huh?! Winter, temp can go down to 0 degrees or even go negative. Summer, it’s really up. I wish it’ll stay at 70 or 75 degrees. In my dreams! Haha!

Monday, July 10, 2006

hApPy BiRtHdAy, Aou!






It was my sister's birthday last Saturday, July 8th. I just don't use the computer on weekends anymore so I get to blog the events come Monday already. I did send her an e-card in advance and greeted her through a text message on the day itself.

Happy Birthday, sistah! Hope you had fun on your day! Wishing you the very best always. Mwah!

Friday, July 07, 2006

Thursday, July 06, 2006

birthday greetings!

Below are the greetings I got from families and friends…unedited:

Jay said...
♪Happy birthday to you, happy birthday to you.
Happy birthday pretty Faye.
Happy birthday to you.♪

Ellen said…
Hi Faye,
Belated happy birthday! (Jul 2 di ba?)

Faith said…
Happy Birthday, Faye!!!

Aileen said…
hello faye,

happy birthday. how have you been? i hope your day is a very special one full of showers of blessings and love. many more happy ones to come. take care and reagrds to irvin.


aileen and family

Rea said…
happy birthday faye!!

Caryl said…
HAPPY BIRTHDAY FAYE !!!!!!

sana magkababy ka na din, hahahaha......
more blessings and healthy years to come! have a great day!

Faye, Migs has something for you too.... see attached...



and my gift for you is here... (hope you like it!)



Jonel said…
Faye, wishing u all of God's best on ur birthday!

Jeng said…
Happy Birthday! Faye

May ginawa just last night. Pasensiya kana nagpractice pa lang ako..... hehehehe




Sarah said…
Happy burpday, faye!!May all your dreams come true!!!!!!

Rachel said…
fayeski!!! hafi vertdey!!!!

Ruby said…
Happy Birthday, Faye!

Wishing you happiness, good health and a bountiful life.

Song said…
FAYE, happy birthday! I hope you're having one swellof a birthday tomorrow. Ise-celebrate ko nga ngayondito. Hic! Regards to Irvin!

Carmela said…
HAPPY HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!

MAY ALL YOUR WISHES COME TRUE...

GOD BLESS.

Jane said…
Hi Faye! Happy Happy Birthday! May you have many more birthdays and more blessings to come.

Take Care and enjoy your day!

Muah!
Jane

Aou said…
Advance Hapi Bday!

Kuya Lito said…
Hi Faye! Advanced Happy Birthday!!! May you have many more to come filled with the Lord's Love & Blessings.

Regards.

Tita Aba said…
hi faye, kumusta na kyo ni irvin? work na ba sya? wow! birthday mo tomorrow, ano handa mo? last wk pa naalala ni nanay birthday mo. d2 pa sya hanggang ngayon. ano na latest sa inyo? ok, happy, happy birthday! god bless you always. mwaah...

Ernie said…
Hi Faye. May this birthday bring you more happiness and joy. Many more years of peace and abundant blessings from the lord. God bless you and your family. Happy happy birthday!!!! All the best. Ernie

card from Ernie.

Christopher said…
Tita Faye,

Happy Bday!

Malu said…
MAHAL KONG FAYE,

NAIS KO LAMANG IPA-ALAM SA IYO NA IKAW AY NAAALALA SA IYONG KAARAWAN. NAWAY PATNUBAYAN KA NG POONG MAYKAPAL NG ISANG MAHABA, MASAYA, MAGINHAWA AT MAPAYAPANG BUHAY SA PILING NG IYONG MGA MAHAL SA BUHAY.

NAGMAMAHAL,

TITA MALU

Ella said…
Hapi bday pepay! Sana ay masaya k ngaung iyong kaarawan. God bless u.

Papa said…
Hapi b-day, congrats, ur 1st b-day as a wife, GOD BLESS

Tita Baby said…
Hello, how are you? happy happy happy birthday!

Tzie said…
Hapi bday! enjoy n all d best.

Mama said…
Good morning…tinanong ko c papa kung ngtxt n cya sau..sagot nya bukas p ang 5 dun… hehehe..i love u anak nd happy birthday. saan ka magcecelbrate?

Vel said…
Happy happy birthday fayeee! Wishing you all the very best.

Adoy said…
Ate Faye, Happy Birthday! (Philippine time). Bukas greet kita ulit U.S. time na! :)

Alynn said…
happy birthday faye! muahhh..

Litzie said…
good thing I opened your blog! HAPPY HAPPY BIRTHDAY FAYE! wish you and irvin the best of everything! you deserve it! God bless!

Maridel said…
Fayee.....

pahabol, happy happy birthday!!!! first birthday mo as a married woman, how was it? how did you celebrate your special day?

Sorry, tempted na tempted na nga ba ako kahapon to call and greet you kaso sabi ko gusto ko mismong day .... kaya lang nawaglit sa isip ko!! when I remember, too late to call na, am sure tulog ka na.

I wish you all the best, my dear friend! and may God bless you more and more, each day! may you finally realize all your dreams and ambitions in life and be truly happy ... in all aspects of your personal and career life!

love you my friend!!!!

happy birthday again!

maridel

Ricci said…
Belated Happy Birthday Faye!

Rommel said…
Happy birthday Faye...

Kelan ba birthday mo? Ilang taon ka na?

Jing and Noel said…
Happy Birthday beautiful Faye! Stay happy and enjoy your day.

Joey said…
Faye,
Happy Birthday sa iyo at sana everything is ok with you and Ervin (hope tama ang name, he he he)

All the best my friend and see you soon !

Dala ako ng camera this Friday para makita mo mga makukulitna kaibigan natin…..

Oh...Tita Laling and Manang Fely also called me at my cell phone to greet me.

Many thanks to all of you for remembering my birthday. I really appreciate it! I may have Irvin here with me to celebrate it with but it'll be a lot better to have all of you. :)

*****

And as I’ve mentioned previously, we went to Applebees last night for dinner. They were too busy that we had to wait to be seated. It’s always good to have an occasion to celebrate. Why? Well we always have an excuse to eat more. Haha! We ordered nachos topped with the salsa, guacamole, sour cream, lots of cheese and I don’t know what you call the ground meat. I had the honey baby back ribs as usual. It comes with French fries, beans and coleslaw. Irvin had the garlic sirloin skillet which comes with garlic mashed potato, garlic broccoli and mushrooms, and toasted garlic bread. For drinks, he had root beer and I had Oreo cookie milk shake. Hmmm… yummy! We didn’t have any dessert anymore. We still have the strawberry fruit cake at home anyway.

Then, we’ve decided to just watch “S” on Friday. We were both tired and restless. But we dropped by Kohls really quick and bought some clothes for my niece (Daighne) and Irvin’s nephews (Miggy & Kyle).

I still haven’t uploaded the pictures though…