Tuesday, January 27, 2009

blah.

- still looking for "it"
- bored to death
- got the package from Mama :)
- nothing really exciting to share

Friday, January 09, 2009

crazy or not?!

Gee it’s been a while since my last post! To tell you honestly I can’t seem to find the enthusiasm to blog these days. I’m beginning to get these negative feelings that you don’t even want to know.

Well, it’s been almost 2 months since that very frustrating day. I consistently do my homework but I guess I didn’t find any luck yet. Or was I even trying harder?! I think so! Well I’ve passed on quite a few applications and I’ve already gone to 2 interviews so far. It’s either “no reply” or “no follow-up”. *Sigh*

Wednesday, December 24, 2008

Maligayang Pasko po sa inyong lahat!

Tuesday, December 16, 2008

if only...

I just came from a “workshop” this AM. It wasn’t bad. I mean it didn’t take that long and the speaker was great! In fact, she was very encouraging that you yourself will have a positive outlook like... "you’re not alone" sort of thing you know. But then again, I can’t help not to feel sad. I just thought that if only “she” hadn’t been like how she was to me, I wouldn’t be in this situation.

Monday, December 08, 2008

Tito JV was in town!

Tito JV, Papa's cousin was in town during the Thanksgiving week. So we decided to meet up for lunch at a restaurant (I forgot the name!) in Chinatown. Tita Baby Evelyn, Tito Ariel and Don and his family were also there.



instant picture

a tag from Ate Irmee...

instructions:

1. take a picture of yourself right now! (the moment you read this tag)

2. don't change your clothes, don't fix your hair, just take a picture.

3. post that picture without editing.

4. post these instructions with your picture.

5. tag 10 people to do this. and don't forget to leave them a message about the tag.



Tag yourself! :)

Christmas decor

I don't usually decorate during Christmas. Why? It's either we're not celebrating at home or no one is really visiting. But we decided to put up something for this year... nothing extravagant... and we're satisfied... I think?! :)

by the main door...



dining table centerpiece...



bedside table...



television and music player stand...



bathroom...



by the wall...

Thanksgiving 2008

We went to Tita Laling’s house in Leominster, MA for Thanksgiving this year. It was a four-day weekend and we’re just happy to have at least relaxed… away from the busy life in NY. There wasn’t really special. We just had the usual American Feast… turkey, French dressing (Memei’s specialty stuffing), boiled veggies (green beans, carrots, summer squash, and corn kernels), mashed potato with gravy, cranberry sauce, spiral ham and fruit tart.



Tita Laling got me 2 pairs of suit which we bought at Macy*s. Sorry I didn’t take pictures of them yet.

IFC enjoyed Joe’s tonka toys and Uncle Ken’s vintage car collection.





We also went to Wachusett Mountain



More pictures here

Wednesday, November 19, 2008

unexpected things happen...

I only had one question! I just needed to know WHY? But I wasn’t given any reason so I was left in awe. I guess I just have to leave it at that even though I know I gave my all. I know God has better plans for me… for us. And that… this too shall pass!

Saturday, November 08, 2008

"GC" granted!

It’s been a while since my last update on this blog. I was too busy with work and the fertility treatment that I couldn’t really find the time to blog.

Anyway, I got a phone call Friday afternoon and received the best news ever. The long wait is over! After almost 5 years of uncertainties, we finally got the approval! I am so overwhelmed with happiness that up to this writing (1208AM), I am still wide awake and hyper. I can feel my head throbbing but I just don’t feel sleepy.

We celebrated it with a dinner at Olive Garden… our favorite restaurant. The food was great as usual but “nothing could be greater than being on cloud nine”. :)

Monday, October 13, 2008

almost done...

We finally finished boxing most of the gifts for our families this Christmas. The only problem is we got too excited shopping at Bjs not realizing if they’ll fit in the box or not. Hehe. Bottom line, there’ll be… either a 3rd box combined or 2nd box for both. We’ll see…

Wednesday, October 08, 2008

Award!

Award from Ate Irmee!

Monday, October 06, 2008

A new addition to the family… well, soon!

I phoned home (Philippines) yesterday AM. It was Adoy (my brother who just got married last Sep 12th) who picked up the call. The background was very loud that I had to ask why. He said they’re watching TV… as if they’re all deaf you know! Anyway, they were waiting for Ma and Pa to come down so they can have dinner. Then he said they have spaghetti, pork belly, and fruit salad. I said… “What’s the occasion?” He was like… nothing! I even joked saying he really has a lot of money. Then he said you’re going to have another “pamangkin” (niece/nephew). I said huh?! It turned out his wife is pregnant.

Congratulations, Adoy and Lanie!

p.s. I also spoke to Mama. I told her “Congratulations, Lola (Grandma)!” as soon as she picked up the phone. She laughed. Soon after, with a sad tone in her voice, she said something like… “naunahan ka na naman”. I just told her maybe it’s not yet our time. And if ever I’ll get pregnant (which we’re really hoping to happen), IFC and I will be very thankful. If not, maybe it’s really not meant to be. In God’s time…

Saturday, October 04, 2008

Ganirelix

The doctor asked me to start using ganirelix... another self-injecting drug. I was asked to take it with me for my appointment yesterday. The nurse gave me the 1st shot as it has to be done in the morning. This drug gives longer cramping than the gonal-f. It hurts a lot leaving a red mark for a while.





Thursday, October 02, 2008

fertility treatment!

I’m undergoing fertility treatment right now. My doctor suggested that I do the self-injecting meds since I’ve already tried clomid for more than a year and I didn’t get pregnant. I started using gonal-f rff pen on September 19th and my visits to the doctor are becoming more frequent because of that. I also have to give blood samples every time to see how my body is reacting to the meds. They are constantly monitoring me so I somehow don’t worry and sometimes forget the possible side effects.

Yesterday, I had another visit to the doctor who told me that my estrogen level is really high. I must admit I know very little on human anatomy that I asked him if that is something I should worry about. He said… “Well, kind of”. He told me that I’m starting to produce follicles slowly. Preferably, that should be at the same level with the increase of estrogen. A high estrogen level may cause fluids in the lungs and around the abdomen area… with the patient looking pregnant when she’s really not.

I know there are risks involved so I just make sure I’m doing everything as told. Sometimes I’m already asking myself if I can still continue with this but I really want to have a baby soon. It entails a lot of time, effort and money but you got to do what you have to do.



Friday, September 19, 2008

pics from Adoy's wedding!

Wwwaaaahhhhhh!!!!! All the more I felt sad....









more pics here...

Friday, September 12, 2008

Adoy's big day!

Today is my brother Adoy’s big day! I think it’ll be over soon or maybe it has ended already. Anyway, Papa sent me a text message while on our way to work… around 745 A.M. (well actually we were to stop by at a store to buy a phone card). He said “call at this number _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _”. It was Mama who answered my call and she said to wait a little bit as they’re finishing up the bouquet tossing. We can’t really understand each other maybe due to the loud background. Suddenly, I heard someone said “we have a message directly from New York City” and the conversation went as follows:

Emcee : Hello!
Faye : Hi!
Emcee : Hello! Ate Faye… We’re here live from the Philippines. Everyone can hear you. What’s your message for Masson and Lanie? (pause) Hello!
Faye : (choking up) Hold on! I’m trying to contain myself! (My voice already cracking up) Now I’m crying! (Ehem!) I thought I’ll be okay?! But I wasn’t really able to sleep last night. Anyway, Adoy… Lanie… I feel really bad not being there. I’m sorry I am not there to celebrate this special day of yours. You know the reason why and there’s really nothing I could do about it. Congratulations and best wishes to both of you! They say marriage make two people as one but remember that you are still 2 different individuals. Love each other… accept each other’s differences… there will be problems along the way but I’m sure you’ll be alright… especially with the support of the family. (pause) I think that’s it!
Emcee : Ok. Thanks Ate Faye! Oh by the way, I’m a medium on a t-shirt.
Faye : O…..K….?! :)

(There were some parts of the conversation in Filipino and maybe some other parts that I can’t exactly remember anymore.)

Then I was off the air and was just talking to Adoy. I said “how’s everything?” He said “good! It’s like a variety show. Hehehe” He told me he’ll just send me a copy of the video. I didn’t anymore keep him long and hang up soon.

Oh what an awful scene I made! Haha! I was so ashamed and all the more I felt bad when I hang up the phone. Grrr! I really thought I am ok but last night… knowing the fact that they’re all busy… everybody’s there but me… I somehow started feeling so upset to the fact that I wasn’t there. Well what can I do…

Thursday, September 11, 2008

"Chuseok"

Our company provided the lunch today in celebration of “Chuseok” (Korean Thanksgiving).

“Chuseok”, is a three-day harvest celebration demonstrating the importance of family to the Korean Society. Family members gather to prepare food and honor their ancestors. The celebration is usually done in the house of the eldest son.

Here are some of the foods we had earlier:

Thursday, September 04, 2008

Labor Day weekend

We had a 3-day weekend last week being Labor Day on 9/1. It was kind of tiring having gone to Tanger Outlets on Saturday and to the Queens Center Mall on Sunday. The “balikbayan” box is usually being picked up before October ends to make sure it gets there on or before Christmas. There are still a lot of things we need to buy though. I think we have enough time…

Wednesday, August 27, 2008

NY Adventures and beyond...

I have been in the US for almost 7 years now and while I constantly blog about my day to day experiences, I thought of creating another blog which will be more prĂ©cised and descriptive of how it’s really like… not only in NY but in other states too as we continue to discover what this country has to offer. See you there!