Thursday, March 27, 2008

it's bothering me...

I see nothing but about “recession” almost every time I go online. Take for instance this single mom who used to be earning $70k a year but now have to go to a food bank to feed her 2 kids. I’m sure it’s not only in the US that this is happening. Manang Glo told me last night that pork in the Philippines is now P175 per kilo. And I also read online that they are facing rice shortage. Filipinos depend so much on rice. In fact, we eat rice 3x a day. IFC doesn’t have a job yet and as to when he can have one, nobody knows. I don’t know but I think I’m getting paranoid of things that are not even affecting me. Well at least not yet. In reality, the company I work for is very stable. I would say it has the resources it needs. We even have 4 new hires in the last 2 weeks. But you just never know…

Thursday, March 20, 2008

some people are just plain RUDE!

Why do people have to be really mean at times?! I am so upset right now and I can't really get over it that I couldn’t help not to let it out. It is a human nature to do # 2… something that you have no control of… even if you’re at work… or wherever you may be. I was exactly in that situation when 3 lady visitors came in the bathroom and one started saying… “OMG this is embarrassing! This is really embarrassing! I think I might stay outside! No! No I’m fine! I’ll stay outside!” And take note... with a whiny voice! How rude! I didn’t know what to do. I felt awkward. I felt angry. I felt ashamed. Grrr!!!

Monday, March 17, 2008

Adoy to tie the knot!

My brother is getting married on September. I think I can now talk about this assuming most of the family has already been told and that it was long before announced in his girlfriend’s friendster page. Mama wants me to be there… not that I don’t want to but I just went home for a visit 3 months ago. Airfare is definitely not cheap aside from the money I would need during my stay there. IFC said he doesn’t need to go (which I am not agreeable to). I haven’t decided yet though. I mean I haven't even applied for a travel parole so... we'll see...

Friday, March 14, 2008

I'm BoReD tO dEaTh!!!

Tuesday, March 11, 2008

crazy thought!

I phoned Nanay (my grandma) last night and as usual she was crying. She was saying she’s getting older and weaker as days pass by. She said she was scolded by Tita Aba that she only said… “That’s how it is!” when I asked her why. We went on with our conversation and she mentioned that 2 of her cousins died just recently and that they (including her), are going “there” one by one. Then I said… “That’s why you were scolded!” She even told me she had the clothes I bought her washed and ironed and that don’t even bother to buy her anything else… that will already do for her. We went on and on and on till we said our goodbyes.

Then, I decided to call Tita Aba and during the course of our conversation, she also mentioned about the “clothes” that Nanay was talking about. I misunderstood it! Nanay was referring to the dress that I bought her for our wedding. And apparently, that has a connection to her cousins’ passing.

It was a long night for me yesterday. I wasn’t able to sleep right away. I know she is ok and in good health. I know being emotional is just part of getting old. I know I could still be with her the next time I go home. Meantime, I will just call her more often so she won’t feel sad…

Monday, March 10, 2008

keeping my fingers crossed...

I’m planning to take a few days off for Kuya Lito and Ate Irmee’s visit. It didn’t hit me though until yesterday that the other division will have their audit soon. I asked my co-worker this AM and he said he’s not sure when it’s going to be as they keep on changing the dates. I hope it won’t be in time that they are here. I actually have nothing to do with that audit. It’s just that I know my co-worker will be really busy to be doing my work while I’m away. :)

Wednesday, March 05, 2008

under recession?!

I wonder what’s happening to the economy right now. My sister Aou lost her job 2 weeks ago after the company was sold and the new owner decided to close the branch in the Philippines. It was only announced 5 days before they said they were closing. Worst is… their separation pay hasn’t been given up to now and the company is planning to file for bankruptcy. Aou was able to find another job in just a week but decided to quit after only 3 days. She said she applied for an administrative assistant position but when she actually reported for work, it seemed like she has more responsibilities than expected. It looked like she was also the customer service assistant, accounting assistant and receptionist… all at the same time. I hope she finds a good one soon.

IFC, on the other hand, still hasn’t found a job yet. He’s really bored now. I told him to set up a time table that in the event that he can’t find anything, say in 2 months, just enroll in a healthcare related course. He agreed though he doesn’t know yet which course to take. I think that’s really one issue when migrating abroad. You just can’t expect to stay in your field. Most of the time, you would have to consider shifting to another career just so you can move on.

Friday, February 29, 2008

Tag from Pat!

Rule #1 Copy all the links below and replace a single link under the appropriate alphabet. If your domain name, or even the title of your blog, starts with an ” A,” you’d replace the link under that alphabet and put the replaced link at the bottom. Also, don’t forget to credit the tagger, or where you got the list from, at the end of the list with a full URL of the post so that a pingback gets generated.

alwaysbcmom.com
because life is fun
coffeenchoclate.blogspot.com
dzunejenn.blogspot.com
enjoyingtheride-jenn.blogspot.com
faye070574.blogspot.com
gotic-peach.net
happykeg.com
ipentimento.com
juliesjournal.com
kabalyero.com
leahjoseph.com
michmagbag.com
notjustmama.net
originalmx5.net
patrickdevivo.com
qweddings.com
rantingsofawoman.blogspot.com
shopaholictiestheknot.blogspot.com
the-working-mom.blogspot.com
utada-online.net valmg.com
wickedbabylon.com
xaviermedia.com
yimto.com
zbudapest.com

Replaced Link: forumfinder.net
Previous Tagger: shopaholictiestheknot.blogspot.com

Rule #2 You now have to “tag” at least five people and encourage them to participate so that this thing spreads like a virus. Remember, though, that not everyone’s into these kinds of things, so don’t be upset if they don’t participate. Just simply replace your tag. Remember to tag blogs only and no pornographic ones as we do want to keep the integrity as a blogging community. TIP: Tag your frequent EntreCard droppers via its messaging system.

I am tagging you!

Awards from Issa!

Thanks, Issa for these awards!

Thursday, February 28, 2008

Family visit!

Ate Irmee, IFC’s sister-in-law, is scheduled for a business trip in the US (Ate Irms, I already spilled the beans! I hope it's ok! Hehe!). She’ll go directly to Texas and will be arriving on March 13th. Then, she will go to NY on the 31st but we won’t be seeing her till April 5th... the date she expects to finish “work”.

Kuya Lito (IFC’s brother), on the other hand, is migrating to Canada soon… till an idea of visiting us here before flying to Canada came to mind. He was at the US Embassy last night for an interview and luckily, he got approved!

Therefore, we’ll be seeing the couple early April. I’m just so excited! It’s really nice knowing we’ll have some “family” coming. Believe it or not but IFC and I are already planning where to take them as early as now! :)

Tuesday, February 19, 2008

awards tag!

I got this award from Caryl...




and these too...



Thanks, BFF! :)

I'm now passing it on to Gracita, Abby, Pao, Ate Irmee, Jane, Litzie and Marj.

Monday, February 18, 2008

saturday night!

IFC and I met with a childhood friend of mine for dinner on Saturday. His wife and kids were there too. We went to Udon, a Japanese restaurant, at the corner of Union St. and Northern Blvd. in Flushing. Then, they invited us over to their apartment for dessert. We were literally just talking at the dining table the whole time, enjoying coffee and salad. Suddenly, I asked for the time… not realizing it was already 405am. His wife even cooked breakfast before they took us home 2 hours later.

To Glen and Hazzel, thanks for your hospitality! It was really nice seeing you again and meeting your beautiful children.

Friday, February 15, 2008

V-Day!

While any day can be a celebration of love, I would still say Valentine’s Day is special. This is the day that people express their affection more... they’re sweeter... and even more thoughtful.

I kind of felt bad though when I picked the card for IFC. It was literally like picking the one where my eyes 1st laid on. We always talk on the phone and I just couldn’t go to the store without him knowing it so I got the card when I went to pick up my prescription at CVS on Wednesday. The wordings are really nice but the card’s color is a little “pinkish”. But what the hey… red is the color for Valentine’s! :)

IFC gave me a box of Ferrero Rocher and a card as well. I found them on top of my pocket book when I got out of the shower yesterday. How sweet huh! Well, I’m one lucky woman! I just couldn’t ask for anything more…

Anyway, we went to Todai, a Japanese buffet restaurant, for dinner last night. Both IFC and I don’t eat sushi but we definitely like hibachi, tempura, teriyaki and so many others. They have a wide selection of food… great tasting food! Too bad IFC didn’t like the “miso” soup and the green tea ice cream (which I had 5 scoops). The service was outstanding as well. The staff was courteous and checks on their customers from time to time. It was our 1st time there and we will surely go back.

We forgot to bring a camera so I got these pictures from the web…









Wednesday, February 13, 2008

get to know me more tag!

Grabbed this from Litzie...

1. Are you in a complicated love situation? NO.
2. Do you hate more than 3 people? I don’t hate anyone right now… sort of.
3. The last thing you drank? Water
4. Favorite chocolate bar? Toblerone
5. How many pairs of shoes do you own? More than 10 I think.
6. Favorite genre of music? RnB
7. Do you like beer? NO.
8. What are your favorite color(s)? White
9. Is anyone in love with you? IFC
10. Pepsi or Sprite? Sprite
11. How many video games do you own? None.
12. Does look matters? I think so… hygiene wise.
13. Are you too forgiving? Not really.
14. Do you own a gun? NO.
15. What did you do last night? I watched American Idol.
16. Nicknames? Pepay, Fayeng, Fayee, Pipay Popam
17. Are you thinking about somebody right now? Yes.
18. Are you happy with your life right now? Yes… can’t complain.
19. Do you like your hair? Yes and No.
20. Does anyone like you? Maybe.
21. Last thing you read? Blogs
22.Are you afraid of the dark? Kind of…
23.Have you ever stripped? Have I?
24. Can you cook? Yes.
25.Money or Love? Both
26. Do you enjoy scary movies? No but I still watch it sometimes.
27.Marriage Or Live In? Marriage
28.When was the last time you said “i love you”? A few minutes ago…

Feel free to snag. :)

Tuesday, February 12, 2008

The White Rose Award!




Thanks to Pat for this! I appreciate it! :)

What can I say about white roses? I think anything white signifies only one thing… purity. It’s a great indication of one’s sincerity and good intentions.

Tuesday, February 05, 2008

title change...

I have changed the title of my blog. Thanks to Abby for the idea! This was how she referred to my blog from the start and I just find it more personal so I'm stealing it (if that's alright with Abby?!).

Monday, February 04, 2008

The GIANTS won!

NY Giants... CHAMPIONS of the XLII Super Bowl!!!

I never enjoyed watching sports till last night. It was breathtaking! The "Giants" fought till the end. I still couldn't believe it! At first, I was even saying I would bet for the Patriots who were unbeaten for the last 18 playoffs. I know it's a shame but in fairness, they are really good in football so I thought the "Giants" couldn't really win. But I was wrong... the "Giants" proved it and made all New Yorkers happy!

Thursday, January 24, 2008

8 things I am grateful for...

a tag from Caryl...

1. good health
2. a loving and caring husband
3. a family who stays together
4. work
5. vacation in “Pinas”
6. thoughtful friends
7. having the “means” to help others
8. being blessed with so many more

Christmas Tag!

Somehow I’m having a problem copying and pasting the original post of Caryl. I don’t want to re-type the whole thing so I’ll just copy Caryl’s personal definition of Christmas.

Rule:
Make a paragraph or two regarding your personal meaning of Christmas below the paragraph of the one who tagged you and you may put your name at the end of the paragraph linking back to your blog or right to the post of this particular tag. Then you tag as many as you can.

Christmas is annual festive that celebrates the birth of Christ with the tradition of gift giving and celebrating the day with the whole family. - A Mother’s Horizon

It is the season of giving, commemorating Jesus’ birth and the best time for family and friends to get together. - It’s All About Me!

"Ninang" tag!

... and another one!

This meme was created to remind us “Ninongs” and “Ninangs” the number of our godchildren and our responsibility towards them as they grow and mature as better Christians. Here are the rules:
• List all the names of your godchildren
• Tag at least 5 bloggers
• Update the Tag Train

The following are the ones that I can remember:
Kyle
Aldrin
Jonathan
Pia
JR
Janice’s, Lerma’s and Lyn’s daughters (sorry I can’t remember their names)

The Tag Train Started Here - Bluepanjeet - Joy - Scarty - Yen - Peachy – Abie - Kitts – Irmee - Faye - "You" {you put your link here}